twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

Another night of checking Alex at irregular intervals; which all set me up nicely for 2 hours overtime and then a 2 hour online meeting with the diabetes folks plus the other families also getting insulin pumps. A tough morning under normal circumstances; but on reduced sleep? Oooft...!

Still, there was daylight at the end of the tunnel. Meeting over, I deposited Alex back into the care of his mother, hasitly packed a rucksack and sped off to the station. Awaiting me was the 1333 for Inverness. I gratefully slumped into my seat and promptly started talking to the bloke next to me. And I thought my adventure was nuts..! I gave him the contents of my wallet and wished him well before succumbing to the inevitable sleep. 

By Inverness I was suitably restored and sought sustainance before the next leg of the journey... another train bound for Kyle of Lochalsh. 

At 1955, I was the only passenger to disembark at Attadale, and conscious of wee things flying about, I set off past Attadale Gardens and into the hinterland, bound for Ben Dronaig bothy. A mere 8 miles up a fairly decent track; but with a hefty 400 metres climb before a mixture of quite frankly mental descents with hideously loose corners and some more absolute bastard ascents. Eventually I crested the highest point and from there on in it was mostly a wind assisted charge to the bothy. Which was locked.... bugger...!
I had a quick look about and figured my best bet was a small lean to on the leeward side of the lodge; there was a roof and one side sheltering me from the wind - probably where they hang the deer up to gralloch them... ach in the half light it looked fine. I ate dinner (pasta salad) and got the sleeping bag inside the bivvy bag and settled down for the night....  Base camp had been established!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.