madowoi

By madowoi

Morning Mist

Low-anchored cloud,
Newfoundland air,
Fountain-head and source of rivers,
Dew-cloth, dream drapery,
And napkin spread by fays;
Drifting meadow of the air,
Where bloom the daisied banks and violets,
And in whose fenny labyrinth
The bittern booms and heron wades;
Spirit of lakes and seas and rivers,--
Bear only perfumes and the scent
Of healing herbs to just men's fields.

Mist, by Henry David Thoreau

Today I had many photos to choose from and it was not easy. In the end I've decided to celebrate the mist that comes rolling in off the marsh on cool summer mornings. I love it.

The extra is from my hike today and is a companion to my entry from May 30th. I took this photo from near the top of Penobscot Mountain. If you know where to look, right where the pond meets the ocean, that small patch of light green there on the right, is the grassy field where I took my photo of the cherry tree.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.