SamAgainPlease

By SamAgainPlease

The curve of the bridge

Another exceptional historical moment in time from Grace Cossington Smith, "The curve of the bridge" in the beautiful shadow of a rather boring and plain IKEA lamp.

Another big day of cleaning up.  Decluttering etc etc.  Quite cathartic!

Today is, in Australia, a public holiday to celebrate the Queen's Birthday.  Being close to mid-winter, it used to also be "cracker night".  I did not hear one firework all weekend - illegal here now, and pretty hard to get, so not surprising.  You used to be able to buy them interstate but not even that's possible now.  There's the internet I guess, but I imagine the fines for importation are huge (of course).

My childhood dog Elsa (a retriever) nearly lost her mouth having retrieved a "tuppeny bunger" when I was ?? 8 or so.  She was, thankfully, a well trained and obedient creature so dropped it on demand.

When all is said and done I look back on cracker night fondly.  I grew up in a developing suburb, with lots of trees and vacant blocks so we had huge bonfires.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.