No smoke...

First, a confession: I took this picture before midnight yesterday even though we stayed up till gone 2.

The fire pit was a deep hole I dug ages ago to remove an extremely deep alkanet root and a stubborn metal fence post. I decided then that after it had been a safe place for the bonfire, I would be able to give it one more use.

For months I've been soaking weeds in three dustbins to make liquid fertiliser so today was the day to heave out the stinking macerated plant-death and bury it in the fire pit. Really it belongs on the compost heap but that would be too unkind to neighbours so it will stay underground until I can excavate it next year. It was heavy work, and although I started around 7 I didn't finish covering it over then weeding the rest of the patch until the sun was quite warm. What with the inadequate sleep, the work and the heat, I was a write-off for most of the afternoon. Early night, no blip uploaded, no comments and no promises to catch up. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.