Eastern ...

... Kingbird.  

At least that's my best guess after searching in the Merlin birding app.  If this is indeed an Eastern Wood-pewee it's a new bird for me.  We have seen them around but this would be my first time getting a photograph. Note added July 5 .... I've researched this and have determined that it's actually an Eastern Kingbird not a wood-pewee.  

We were on our way to Plainfield Rail trail for a walk when we drove by Green Pond.  This sweet bird was sitting on her nest right over the water.  Based on the open mouth I'd say she was a bit warm ... especially right out in the sun like this.  We also saw a couple of red-eared slider turtles sunning themselves ... see extra for one of them.  The red-eared slider is not native to the Northeast and is considered an invasive species here. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.