youngies journey

By youngie66

Haggs Wynd

Well a wee trip to Culross after an trouble free day at work not like the day before when on two occasions the fire alarms went off on my train the first was south of Durham on my way to Leeds I was just crossing Croxdale Viaduct when the alarms went but as we crossing a viaduct and then straight into a cutting I had to delay my emergency stop as two of the three main places we cant stop when fire alarms go off are on Viaducts,Deep Cuttings and Tunnels so I had to delay my stopping by around 1 mile so I could bring the train to a stop next to Hett Mill level crossing as if I needed emergency services then they could get right to the train I had to contact the signaller and inform him as I wanted a block on the opposite line to examine the outside of the train although the fire alarm warning light was flashing that signifies a potential fire onboard as a steady red warning light means an engine fire but as my TM train manager had checked that coach by the time I had stopped It was not showing any smoke or unto wards inside or outside the train but I had to visually examine the train underneath when I went back the wheels on the affected coach were scorching but that could have been due to the heavy braking and the fact a traction fault on that vehicle means I lose my rheostatic brake which means you lose the ABS type braking were the brake pads go on and off very quickly so these just bind on that's why if you are ever on a voyager and after heavy braking you smell acrid smoke it is more than likely that part of the braking system has been isolated or the traction is isolated any how all was well with the visual check so before we could move off I had to conduct a Rotational test with my TM so I got Angela to get her Hi Viz vest on and keep watch as I moved the train forward to make sure all the wheels were turning ok if you seen last weeks documetary when that Fluffy Virgin TM had to do the same which I laughed at he was so excited because it was his first one I honestly though he was about to have an Orgasm doing it lol anyhow it went well so we jumped back on board got the block off the line and permission to proceed so off we went and as my TM was on the phone to our control to say all was well the alarms went off again so stopping again maintenance controllers now gave me authority to Isolate a part of the fire safety system to stop spurios fire alarms as they suspected a battery problem may cause this problem so that was done and now we had lost 50 minutes so an expensive delay but no more problems to Leeds a fitter got on at York and when I finished my shift the train had lost a further 79 minutes ouch so I dont know if the fitter reinstated the circuit breakers I had tripped previously as the alarms had gone off at Burton so not a good trip for those passengers but safety comes first anyhow enough of my ramblings and back to my blip which I took in the littel Fife village of Culross pronounced Cooriss and this shot of this old cobbled lane named Haggs Wynd or another name I found for it was stynky Wynd so this is my blip for the day now a movie out of this well after talking about Fluffy TM's it has to be "Fag Hag 1998" no disrespect either to that TM lol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.