Lizimagiz

By Lizimagiz

A Chance For the Birds

Today dawned bright and beautiful ...as usual...without any rain in sight. A lovely day for walking the dogs and relatively cool before the warm Nor-west wind got up late in the morning. The temperature eventually reached 28 C.
As I walked alongside one of the vineyards I was upset to see a number of tiny birds had become trapped in the netting. Most of them were silver-eyes. Darling little things. They panicked when they saw me and fluttered backwards and forwards inside the netting. They were moving far too fast for me to photograph them.
"Poor little things" I thought. "At least they won't starve."
Then further along the row I saw where they had got into the netting. A sense of relief! If they found their way in then they would find their way out.
Most netting is more securely fastened top and bottom with green plastic clips. I seldom see trapped birds.
I have a feeling that the irrigation has been turned off in the areas where I walk. The grower's irrigation systems suck the water out of the Taylor River shingles and that adds to the river drying up ... But once irrigation is halted a little more water seeps through the shingles and up to the surface in some spots.
The weather forecasters tell us that we will be getting some rain late in the coming weekend. I do hope they are right!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.