It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Love Birds

I will change my mind a million times about my best picture today. That's because I was on the Bass Rock taking photos with the Edinburgh Photographic Society. 

It was a 03:10am start and society member Chris had kindly agreed to give me a lift at 04:00am. The alternative was either a hotel or cycling to North Berwick with my big heavy lens. 

What can I say about the morning? Well Rosemary will tell you that I'm at my happiest and calmest when I'm watching creatures including birds. The wee boy comes out in me, in which I get so transfixed. Put me on a rock in the middle of the sea with 70 thousand birds, who's behaviour is incredible, and I'm in heaven.

The walk up the rock was scary as these birds are fiercely territorial & their beaks are big. If you got too close, they would attempt to impale you with the thing. When we got up to the only clearing between thousands of bird, most of the group got their cameras out. I just watched, and Maggie the rock ranger (I hope she is called Maggie and she is kinda a ranger) told me a bit more about the gannets. Of course, I know a wee bit about them, but it's so good to chat to someone who knows the birds & their behaviour through more than reading a book.

These two lovebirds were amazing to watch. They had such a deep bond and intimacy. I welled up with tears, partly because I was happy and partly because the more I observe wildlife, the more I get annoyed with humanity. We share the earth with such wonderful creatures and they deserve more from us. 

I think we were on the rock for 3-hours but time passed in the blink of an eye. It had been a truly magical morning, one which I'll treasure the memories from.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.