JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 166: Romanesco

I intended to find some tiny, blue flowers for today's photo, but my neighbour C gave me a small head of romanesco, the first of the season, when I went across the road to see if he would stop for coffee. He was planting his runner beans and complaining he is weeks behind, but his garden was looking wonderful, as always. He gave me more spring cabbages too, one of which we have eaten in bubble and squeak this evening; he is always very generous with both vegetables and plants. It's nice to have returned to seeing him properly, after fifteen months of interaction limited to occasional, distanced outdoor conversations which he could never hear properly, and brief, functional emails about supermarket deliveries or seed orders. 
I love the shapes of romanesco, with those fascinating spiral cones of tiny heads. It has reminded me that I've been talking about a macro lens for far too long.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.