Sunrise Tree

One of the benefits of the recent time change is that my drive to work once again takes place just as the sun is rising. This is quite a delightful - though highly distracting - development for someone like me, who appears to be smitten by the rising sun. Yes, morning - that part of the day that feels so full of promise - is my favorite time of day for photography!

I took this picture at one of my favorite places, the little pond at Skytop Farm. The sun was rising and the scene was full of orange light. When I downloaded it, I added a bit of pink. It's hard to explain why: the orange just seemed to call out for it.

In this picture, it seems as though our pathway to the sun is paved with golden light. And the rising sun . . . the tree wears it almost like a crown, or a jewel. Most of the pond is still covered in ice, and the light from the sunrise is casting some enchanting tree shadows on the frozen surface.

You've seen this pond, and this tree, quite a few times before. If you like this photo, here are a few more that you may also enjoy:

Thursday 8 March 2012: Of Musical Trees and Quiet Hearts

Thursday 12 April 2012: Cloud Reflections on the Pond

Friday 12 October 2012: Illumination

Tuesday 6 November 2012: Skywater

Thursday 15 November 2012: Blue Morning

The song to accompany this picture is To the Morning, by Dan Fogelberg. The video includes many beautiful images that my photographer friends may like as much as (or maybe even more than) the music. Enjoy!




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.