Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Black Prince

A bit of an experiment; not entirely successful.  I like taking pictures on the North Norfolk Railway but want to expand the number of vantage points so that I can get different shots.  This afternoon I tried out a bridge just outside Holt station and this is the view of 92203 ‘Black Prince’ bringing the 14.50 from Sheringham into Holt.  Not a bad vantage point but not great; the engine is coasting down into the station so there is no steam to add drama to the shot.  It’s a narrow bridge on a double bend which adds a bit of interest while waiting; if two cars meet (as they regularly do) one has to reverse quite a way down the road to let the other pass and depending on the driver’s reversing skills, it can take a while.

Afterwards I went back to where I had parked the car and spotted a gate into woodland.  I wondered if there would be access to the railway so had a wander in.  After a while I came across an elderly local chap and his two equally elderly black Labradors, who clearly wasn’t used to seeing anyone in ‘his’ wood!  However, he told me where to go to get down by the line and also that the path was a public right of way, even if that man who owns ‘the estate’ doesn’t like people wandering on his land!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.