Beauty is all around us.

By Grace55

A canal boat from Sowerby Bridge, Yorkshire.

Feast Day of Saint Alban.
Our part of the Leeds Liverpool canal is relatively quiet compared to where my daughter Maria lives, at City Island near the Leeds end of the canal.
It is busy and built up there, very red brick and modern functiional architecture. I am fond of all things Victorian, having first lived in Addiscombe near Croydon, in an old detached house built in 1863. I loved that house and garden and we moved when I was nearly 3 years old. Fortunately, my Granny and Grandad stayed there, so going back there in my early childhood was a great joy.
Since living in Lancashire since 1979, I have always chosen to live in a Victorian terraced house. Paul and me are agreed about the generous room size and high ceilings. It is amazing how little things like that can create a sense of homeliness.
I have been on a neighbourhood walk. I came across Lynn walking Lola, Sarah's dog, and we chatted awhile. Then I chatted to Anita who was sitting in her sunny front garden and admired her vibrant orange clump of papavers. I had not seen Anita for over a year, so we had a lot to catch up on.
Then on to Cut Lane to walk alongside the woodland and listen to the various birds. There is sometimes a woodpecker taping away. It is a pleasant 20.5c and quite still.
Paul returned to his office and took his sunglasses and x2 reading glasses and eye drops. He is still sensitive to sunlight following his two recent cataract operations.
Have a lovely Thursday blip friends and thank you for visiting my site.
Steps so far : 3720.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.