The Ultimate Loop

The great thing about entering a tough event is that the fear instilled by the prospect of suffering gets me out doing the training required to properly prepare myself. Contrary to what many people seem to think, I don't actually like to suffer! But I'm finding now that my mental resolve is lagging far behind my physical strength and stamina. The body is holding up better than the mind. I play head games, trying to persuade myself out of doing what I need to do. I'm finding it increasingly hard to decide on a route and get out the door.

Once on the road, though, it's usually the case that I end up going further than intended, which is what happened today. Starting from a point of lethargy and having no energy, I returned home buzzing. It's something of a paradox and pretty hard to explain.

I planned to cycle to Skipton to get the train to Ribblehead, returning the same way, enabling me to do some kind of tour of the Northern Dales. I hadn't committed to how far. I pretty much made it up as I went along, dropping into Dentdale and over the Coal Road, then under Wild Boar Felll to take the climb from Nateby into Swaledale. I extended the route there by riding up West Stones Dale to the Tan Hill Inn, then down Arkengarthdale before climbing over the tops again to Low Row and back via Buttertubs, Hardraw and Widdale. I'd done all the climbs before but, in a few cases, not in the direction I took today. I think my final route is the ultimate high dales loop: 70 miles (8,500 ft of climb), all on quiet, often deserted roads, unremittingly beautiful scenery the whole way, only ever passing through hamlets, with the one exception of the tiny village of Muker and its rather important teashop. It's hard to imagine being able to devise another route so totally unspoilt, literally throughout its entire length, without any kind of busy road to cross or urban interruption. 

The buttercup meadows were sensational. This is a view looking towards Keld from the hamlet of West Stonesdale. It's no exaggeration to say that I spent the best part of six hours riding amidst scenery like this, ever-changing, climbing over the moors from one valley to another. For me, on a day like today, it's the best cycling in the world.

After half an hour break on the train, the 10 mile ride home felt good. I think I'm ready. 12 days to go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.