Here goes......

By Lindiloo

Through the Archway

It was a grey, drizzly, damp day today.

My day began early, I was working from home and always take the opportunity to get an early start, even if I am in front of the computer in my Jammies!

By lunchtime I was ready for a break and went for a much needed walk to the shop. On the way I passed the entrance to the Roman Camp Hotel grounds and decided to make it my blip for today. It was originally a modest 17th Century Manor House and is now a hotel with the restaurant holding an impressive 3 AA rosettes! It's very distinctive as it is painted pink, also a sign of Jacobite sympathy and a safe haven for Jacobites following the uprising. Don't know if it was originally pink or if it was a Jacobite safe house but I like to think it was and it certainly fits the time frame!

Earlier than the Jacobites the Romans were here and it's that fact that gives it it's name.

Back to work I went, never really got into it today, struggled, struggled and struggled a bit more.......oh well, tomorrow's another day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.