The Troublemaker

- The bottom hairpin is falling apart.
- There's a rabbit hole coming out of the tarmac near the top.
- Gate Four needs a sweeping brush before you can get traction and set off.

They're all snippets that that weren't included in the essential information.  In writing, I'd been set a challenge (with a pointer, in case I missed it!)   'Wild and steep' was all I had to go on - that was enough to roll my eyes and put it out of my mind.

Or, that's what I thought.

So this wasn't actually in my head to do last night.  My plan was Tan Hill which I haven't done for a while and then across to Reeth and take the tailwind up Coverdale. But, when I sat down to take a look at the map, that little voice that sits on my shoulder piped up and reminded me there was a road that hadn't been climbed yet. 

And then it niggled away.  (He knew that would happen.) Until I couldn't help but plot and examine it. And take a look on Google Maps to see if I could work out exactly how many gates there were.

And that was that.

In fact, it was simply outstanding. I don't think there's another hill where I've laughed my way up (OK, with short stretches of exceptions).  Every gate, it's true, offered stunning Swaledale scenes.  With the excuse of gates to stop me, I took maximum advantage of a break and photo opportunities. I thoroughly enjoyed myself - particularly when I got to this blipping point and I could see I was level with the road on the other side of the valley.  I knew that ascent; I'd make it for sure now! 

After taking the train to Kirkby Stephen first thing, I took the climb out of Nateby instead of Tan Hill - the hare egging me on was my good sign.  I'm not superstitious but a bit of nature always gives me a positive feeling. At the top of Kidstones, I checked that a lapwing chick had ducked through the wall to safety and I knew it was steady, steady home.  

So, it's a whopping thanks to that troublesome blipper that manages to get in my head, time after time. If it wasn't for you, these cycling days just wouldn't exist.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.