JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 169: Wet Hypericum

This is hypericum, St. John's Wort. It's sold as a shrub and I've always found it attractive, but it grows as a self-seeding weed in our garden. This one appeared between the decking boards outside the back door sometime last year, and if I was a tidier gardener, or just had more time, it would have been removed long ago, but its flat, firm leaves hold raindrops very well and its location makes it a highly convenient subject for rainy day photography. I'm surprised to find I have not blipped it before, though I did post it on Instagram among my first, pre-Blip daily photos last October. 

Since Wednesday night's torrential downpours, we've had two days of intermittent rain, heavy cloud, constant misty haze obscuring the hills, and air that feels like a slightly under-heated steam room. It's not weather which invites outdoor photography. Today I've made the year's first batch of elderflower cordial and stewed a big pot of rhubarb. I want to make rhubarb and ginger jam, but Tesco have inconveniently been out of root ginger when I've placed my last two online orders, and we still have plenty of last year's chutney - partly because my enthusiasm for making it exceeds our current rate of consumption, and partly because in a year without face to face social contact, less than usual has been given away. Perhaps rhubarb cordial would be nice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.