On Hunger Hill

It was amazing to find out how many of you were familiar with The Cockpit in Leeds and also with Sparklehorse, even to the extent that Buzzcocksfan had been to the same gig - and it's not a big venue. I love the way that little connection I made yesterday morning outside the station in Leeds has now spread around the world, with possibly a few people now introduced to some great new music.

I'm not really a melancholy person but I've always been drawn to melancholic and fragile music. I like a fractured and slightly dissonant sound. It somehow seems more in tune with the ambiguity of the real world. I often feel it as a vicarious nostalgia for experiences I've never had. And probably never will have. I get consumed by the music in the same way that I get consumed by a good novel. I'm left feeling somehow more fully myself.

It's been a mixed bag of a day. There was an incredibly heavy frost first thing and I was woken early by the sun streaming in through my big window. I thought I'd test the calf out by going for a very gentle run up to Middleton Village. It didn't altogether pass that test, but it didn't really fail either. I'm just going to have to ease back into my running very gently indeed. I cycle commuted for the first time this week and that felt good at least. In between, the day back in the office went very slowly indeed. Still trying to force square pegs into round holes!

Finally, just a few hours left to claim your virtual cash prize in Monday's game. Entries close at midnight. Thanks so much to all of you have sent me your response already. I'm looking forward to discussing the result tomorrow night.

It may come as a surprise to learn that this was taken only just over a mile from where I live in the centre of Ilkley. It looks a lot more remote ... and felt it this morning in the bitter cold.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.