Goldfinches

When I came home from Elie yesterday one of the first things I did was fill up the bird feeders with fat balls and sunflower hearts..

The activity around lunchtime was quite intense as the goldfinches jostled with the sparrows to get their feet on the perches. Goldfinches, being slightly larger, tended to claim the sunflower seeds leaving the sparrows with the fat balls which they really enjoy.

Goldfinches are such messy eaters that it wasn't long before a couple of pigeons arrived to feast on the spilt seeds.

Then I spotted 12 starlings pecking furiously on the grass ..... there must have been something tasty lurking in the soil.

Just a pity that I had to take the picture through the kitchen window ..... if I had opened the back door the birds would have flown off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.