Swallowtail butterfly

I saw this swallowtail in the garden a few days ago when I didn't have the camera with me, and I noticed that part of a wing was missing. It was back today with 2 others and I managed to get a photo of it. It's lovely to see them back. A bit cooler today, a perfect temperature for working outside, but we have a heat wave predicted. Hope it doesn't get too hot! 
I just looked back at my blips to see when I first mentioned the tent caterpillars - May 22, so nearly a month ago. They're finally slowing down a bit but are busy making cocoons. I'm still doing my best to keep up with both. We keep hearing that next year is predicted to be major infestation of them, and I hope that all the hours G and I have put in trying to control them this year will help - although I doubt it. The number of them this year is nothing compared to the major infestation we had a few years ago. I think we've killed thousands of them this year and G agrees. I don't enjoy killing them but they really are destructive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.