This is the life!

Spent the morning giving the hens' house a real clean out. The accumulation of shredded paper, saw dust and droppings, I put on the compost heap and then Mike brought some seaweed up from the shore to add to it. A potent mix!

The hens had a great time when I let them back in - busily scratching around in the clean bedding, telling each other what they thought of the new straw in the nest boxes, assessing my cleaning efforts. They must have approved as there were five eggs later in the day.

After lunch, Lottie and I spent a blissful hour or so on the cliffs. She is such a great little companion. Happy to walk, explore or just sit quietly, leaning against me or stretched out in the grass. Orcas have been seen here recently, but not today. We sat and watched the sea, listened to the birds and enjoyed the sunshine.  Perfect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.