a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Bored of the rain

Hey, I can be forgiven - it is practically Mid-Summer you know, and its rained most of the day. So instead of venturing out I had a go at a natural light portrait.  As there isn't another model easily to hand I had to make do with this rather surly chap.

To be fair my experience of Mid-Summer is generally that it is invariably wet.  I remember one year, when we had moved into a new (bigger) house, we decided to celebrate with a party - as the house had a particularly good garden for that sort of thing.  In the event it poured and we all crowded indoors.  It was probably a better party for all of that.

I debated whether to go out in the rain this afternoon to try to grab an outdoor shot but instead decided to have a go at playing with tethering the camera to the computer.  It would have worked brilliantly if the lead I was using to connect the two was more than 30 cm long....  

It all worked flawlessly save that with the camera on a tripod the laptop was left dangling from the the USB3 cable - not a good look.  

Like most people I have any number of computer related leads - in my case they are kept in a discrete box in some sort of order.  But nope, I don't have a long USB3 cable.  I can see how one might be useful. Although it would need to be a couple of meters long to be really useful.  

But I also look at that box full of surplus leads in the garage, most of which are no longer used and wonder, is it really worth my bothering?

The advantage of tethering the camera by the way, is the you can see what the camera is about to take and then change every detail of the camera settings accordingly, which is actually quite useful.  It also takes the image directly into the photo editing software suite that I use so you can also check composition etc on the larger screen.  So yes, it would be useful if I did lots of indoor stuff or highly detailed stacked macro shots etc.  But .... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.