Where the Light Gets In

By DHThomas

On the Terminator*

second EVA
for Thomas and Shane this week
— a total success

Even though Thomas (in the background here, with the red stripes on his suit) had to use his resourcefulness to fix Shane's camera system on his helmet using copper wire - I'm still amazed at the fact that they do have this kind of things in their basic equipment - no wonder they say preparing an EVA (ExtraVehicular Activity, also known as space walk) has to be thorough! - Sunday's mission was completed. They were out to deploy one of the new solar arrays that will complement the ISS's power sources. They also prepared the next EVA by preparing another array to be put in place and deployed. They stayed outside the station for more than six hours. Not one dull moment (I was in front of my screen for most of the EVA).

Sunday was also an election day in France, both for our departmental and regional assemblies. This was the first round, and it looks as if nothing will be changing.

* the Terminator is the line/area that separates the part of a celestial body lit by its nearest star from the part in the shadow. Witnessing this was a very exhilarating part of yesterday's viewing, for me.

I'm not sure how much I'm breaking Blip rules by posting the photo I took of my screen - I did leave the NASA logo in, as I suspect they own the rights, and anyway I'm not looking to sell the picture.

Also, I'm still looking for recommendations for a good book about Julia Margaret Cameron. I asked a few weeks ago but got no answers. Maybe I'll be luckier this time? ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.