The Dress

One of the last black and white photographs I've colorized is my wedding portrait.  It was the style back in the sixties to have them done in black and white.  As I was working on it I got thinking of the dress.  I remembered that I had seen it on the cover of Brides' Magazine in the fall of 1968 and knew that that was the one I had to have.  It cost $99. which doesn't seem that much now but that translates to $785. today.  No wonder my mother was aghast at the price but my Dad insisted I have what I wanted.  I wondered if I could find a picture of that cover and low and behold I did!  I even found a picture of the Hudson Bridal Shop where I ordered it.  It is now a private home.  I was married on this day in 1969.  I've added the original picture as an extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.