Transitoire

By Transitoire

Liberté

Freedom! Thank Christ for that! Rather than take a picture of a person, I decided to take a picture of the rooftops with the snow still on them...I feel like sometimes all I do is take portraits, hence my sudden landscape phase!

After cancelling many times due to the snow, Mathieu and I finally managed a rendez-vous...at Tour Solidor. We chatted pretty much about everything, going through families, education, music, working in schools, French and English fashion, nightclubs in both countries, Ireland...and I finally worked out Mathieu told me what the difference is between pronouncing and not pronouncing the "s" in plus. So:-

- J'en ai plus - I have more of them
- J'en ai plu(s) - I have no more left of them

See, that "s" really does make the difference!

One hour, turned into two, and then into three...as the best kind of rendez-vous go! It was then time to see Laura, Becky, Claire and Pawel at Dolly's, but was rather annoying as it took me longer than normal to walk to Dolly's due to my leg + snow so I didn't arrive when I really wanted to! Was lovely to see them, even though it was only for a short time...I will see them again tomorrow luckily.

It just feels awesome to actually have some human contact, face to face contact, not that I don't love those I have been Skyping!

Could have gone out this evening to the night out at L'Ecume des Nuits, but I decided with the snow still present, and the ever present threat of public transport being cancelled...my evening could be spent more productively in...so I ended up chatting to Tim (one of my oldest friends from school) on Skype for the entire evening. Not badly spent I would say!

I've been meaning to Blip this song, 'Tu Connais', for a while now, but never really had the time to translate the bits that really speak to me...well, you lucky people...snow is still on the ground and public transport was still not working this morning, so here you go! One French song that works better in French than English...

Tu connais mes potes. Tu connais nos souvenirs
Tu connais les anecdotes qui nous font rire
Tu connais mon état quand j'ai trop fait la fête
[...]
Tu connais mes envies. Tu connais mes prouesses
Tu sais qui j'ai aimé avant qu'on se connaisse
Tu me confies tes peurs et tu partages mes doutes
Tu corriges mes erreurs et tu les pardonnes toutes
Je connais tes soupirs. Je connais ton souffle
L'éclat de ton rire et le goût de ta bouche
J'écoute ta voix et son chuchotement
Et comment tu respires en t'endormant
Et si c'est le temps qui passe
Qui fait qu'on se connaît
Il faut que le temps passe et ne s'arrête jamais


You know my friends. You know our memories
You know the stories that make us laugh
You know my state when I been partying too much
[...]
You know my desires. You know my achievements
You know who I liked before we knew each other
You confided in me your fears and you share my doubts
You correct my mistakes and you forgive them all
I know your sighs. I know your breath
The sparkle of your laughter and the taste of your mouth
I listen to your voice and your whispers
And how you breathe when you fall asleep
And if this is the time that passes
Which makes us know
Time must pass and never stop

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.