Shard with Rain

Several weeks ago I uploaded about 90 of my photos to the cloud for my friend-with-a-bookshop to select from but she couldn't, and left me to choose, the only guidance being that she likes brightly coloured abstracts. So when we met today to put 45 of them (duly ordered by me) into mounts (ordered by her) plus a select six into frames, I was surprised that this was the one she chose for herself.

Organising everything for display took us several hours, including a rather delicious South Indian lunch in the restaurant across the road - from where we could monitor whether people were reading the optimistic 'back in 20 minutes' sign. 

When she opened the bookshop over six years ago it was in a rather run-down bit of Willesden. Now a florist and tasteful restaurants (and doubtless a bakery selling sourdough but I didn't see it) have opened among the fast-food and household goods shops and one of the bookshop's recent customers is Zadie Smith. It'll be very interesting to see over the coming months whether anyone wants to buy one of my pictures. 

Two people half-heartedly skimmed through the mounted prints as we put them out into the shop (extras) but no-one bought. Just as well, since prices weren't decided. I'm leaving that to Fatma.

This was on my train journey from south east London to north west - rather wonderfully on a direct train that goes via St Pancras International but only on Sundays.


Black and white in colour 234

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.