SamAgainPlease

By SamAgainPlease

Gloucester (NSW) Train Station 30-Dec-1999

Not that remarkable a photo but I'm very excited because it's my most successful attempt at "scanning" a 35mm colour negative.

It's important (to me anyway) as my rediscovery of photography, and discovery of digital photography, started with me scanning (with a film scanner) some 1970s - 1990s 2 inch negatives.  The results were pretty good (on Flickr).  I then started with 35mm.  It was disappointing -  I was amazed at how much the reduction in negative size made.  I bought some better software (VueScan) and it made a very big difference, but not enough.

I then thought "Why am I wasting time with this.  Get out there and learn how use a digital camera."  So here I am at Blipfoto....

A year or so later (not blip, but digital), and cleaning out old stuff, I noticed the 10 year old scanner and recalled it had a few issues so I decided to recycle it (if you're in Sydney search for Arnies) and upgrade.  I discovered that the technology for even $2,000 scanners was not that much different from the one I had (in fact does not seem to have changed much for a couple of decades).  I then read about taking digital photos of the negatives so explored that.  Again, a little disappointing and fiddly, the orange tinge of colour negatives is tricky to work around.

To cut a long story short I thought "I wonder if the scanning software, which is designed to process colour negatives, can process my raw digital negative." Bingo, it worked!

And here is my first attempt.....  I might take a few shots of my set up and share here (if anyone's interested).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.