Theleens

By Theleens

Caledonia

I've been feeling it these last few days: the feeling of missing home and my friends and family. I went to bed early last night to sleep it off but still awoke feeling rather subdued. So, I decided to make a cup of tea, went through to the music room and sat down at my piano for the first time since arriving back in the States.
Sometimes individual notes say more than chords. It's something about how the air in between notes is like a note itself. I sat on the stool, opened the piano lid and looked at the keys. Where to start.

I put my right hand on an F then a G then an A, and then thought I'd skip to the C. In that moment I felt a melody, just a wee one, just a simple one, but let my right hand take the lead. A voice came out of hiding, faint but audible, and she followed the soft, undulating piano notes. I played for an hour or so and then had to get ready for work.

I came home tonight and played a little more. I have chords now, a guitar piece and a melody. But the first part is always the sweetest. Hear for yourself.

Feeling a little better when I play this song.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.