Kindness

Taiga died peacefully in my arms on Wednesday afternoon as I rocked him and thanked him in the chair where we spent many peaceful hours, where I am sitting right now as I compose this post. Two gentle young women, a vet and her assistant, administered the injections. He was given a tranquilizer that relaxed him and put him to sleep as I held him against my heart, and when he was completely relaxed, he was given a second injection that ended his life in a body that had broken down and worn out. I wish everyone could have such a gentle ending.

This drawing was created today by Diane, the Lovely Other Half of Klaus001. I know them because they are friends of Giacomo, and I met Giacomo on Blip. I had dinner with Diane tonight, and she presented me this gift, beautifully matted as you see. I propped it in a window by her breakfast table, so that's the closest I can come to showing you Taiga floating peacefully over Portland and blessing the place, as he did in life, with his ease, dignity, and regal beauty.

Taiga was the first cat my granddaughter Bella met, and she was his first child. She always enters my apartment looking for Taiga. The next time she comes, I'll have the picture Diane made to show her.

The comments left on my post on Monday have been a deep source of support. Words do help. Expressions of understanding and sympathy remind me that there is not one of us who has not known loss. We are in this together. I am especially moved by the stories of others who have had to decide whether to euthanize or not, who know that there is never a Right Time, who know that there is always a seed of doubt that they acted too soon or too late.

The kindness has been boundless. Emails, Blip comments, Blessings, poems, phone calls: all help. I am grateful for the imaginative ways people have expressed their understanding. Laurie made a donation to Partners in Health in memory of Taiga.  Several people dedicated their blips today to the two of us (thank you Chaiselongue, Veronica, Annie, and Nanou). Many told me their stories of similar moments. I believe that being present for each other is what we are here for. We sometimes complain about the internet, about ways the screens are taking over our lives. But it is also true that the internet brings us new ways of being kind to each other.

Thank you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.