Wai-whaka-ata ...

..... ..... ..... as known to Māori, or Lake Hayes. The reflections were mirror-like this afternoon, and I wished I’d had my kayak with me.

I’d been out for lunch at a new pub, The Crown, with a group of fellow villagers, thoroughly enjoying fine food and great views of the Remarkables. What a treat! I had lamb shanks, as did someone sitting near me, and I brought the bones home for Missy. She thought it was Christmas.

Unbelievably, a large part of Wellington province has today gone into Level 2 CV-19 Lockdown, following a traveller from Australia testing positive. He’d been here for the weekend, visited 19+ places, and exposing 100s of unsuspecting people to whatever variant of Covid-19 he has. His symptoms began last night. Hey Ho. Of course we’re all hoping it’ll be contained, but it has the hallmark of a super spreader event.
It ends a period of over 100 Covid free days. It was probably inevitable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.