A Short Season

While there are many fruit and vegetables we can now find in the shops all year round, cherries still have quite a short season. They can be found out of the their European season, but at a prohibitively expensive price.

I have a recollection from childhood that a punnet of cherries would contain both the red and yellow varieties. Generally now I only find the red variety. So I was excited this morning to see quite small punnets of the yellow variety. I took one of each. In the picture I have mixed the two varieties.

After I had taken the picture I tried a test. I admit it was not a blind test. Notwithstanding being able to see the colour of the cherry being sampled I was unable to detect with certainty any true difference in flavour. Disappointing as the yellow ones are almost double the price (£1.00 vs. £0.60p per 100g). 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.