A three delivery day

You wait weeks for stuff to be delivered, then three lorries come at once. Delighted to say that for once it was me causing mayhem on the streets of Cromarty. Quite a busy morning.

Waiting for the sub-base to be delivered (two tons, see extra) I was working against time to lift about a ton of materials out of the frame where the shed is going to be, then pull up a mass of weeds, then spread out a heavy roll of weed fabric, then cut it (swearing) with a blunt Stanley knife.

I was looking out for a diabetic hypo and saw it coming. The village bakery is jut round the corner, and I had my first doughnut since 2006. Lovely. it was. More heavy work to do, so maybe I can organise another hypo.

Fatrso brought the shower splashwall that we've been waiting weeks for. The driver had come up from Manchester, and was now on his way back, not looking forward to it. I bought him a doughnut too.

The guy who brought the heavy materials is an artist. He managed to get that crane over a building and under a telecomms cable, through a tiny space. Three times.

And you know nobody can get cement for love or money? We got some. Maybe it's because I was kind to the nice people at the builder's merchant, when they were under pressure. As I agreed with our friends at the farm shop later, it's important to be human. As long as it's the good sort of human, not the other sort.

Onwards and downwards!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.