kettwigefrau

By kettwigefrau

Hair scare

I spent the morning at the haircutters*, filling up on capuccini & gossiping - there was also a long and convoluted text chat with no.1 son who was in school (which operates a clearly ineffective 'handyverbot'**) but apparently only watching a video about parasites which he already knew all about (teenagers, they think they know it all already)

I needed a relaxing morning as I had a late night - across the road (literally) at a friend's learning how to make sushi with a proper sushi chef, there were 6 of us including another blipper steppingstones and we spent 3 hours chopping (cucumber, avocado, salmon & tuna) and rolling (the actual sushi) Mr Matsumoto was patience personified as he showed us how to push the rice without destroying it completely and how to slice with a very, very sharp Japanese sushi knife (although they're so long they should surely be called swords) that is sharpened just on one side - tricky when you're a lefty like me and the weapons are all sharpened to their (righty) owner's specification!

It was an entertaining & informative evening, who knew that you had to fan sushi rice, but I still don't get what the deal is with sushi. So many of my friends love it with the kind of passion and fervour that I reserve for shoes and bags, but I just don't get it. It's quite pleasant especially when you've made it yourself but I could easily survive without it in my life - shoes or bags though? Not a chance!


* he doesn't like to call it a 'hairdressers', but I'm sure the subtlety is lost on the majority of the German clientele.
** handy = mobile phone, verbot = forbidden/ban

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.