A Meandering Life...

By Skeena

Bygone Days

Matilda outside the real home in Thirsk of James Wight (aka James Herriot) who wrote the 'All Creatures Great & Small' books. It is now a museum.

In 1969, a year before Matilda was built, my father was working as the technical director on the film 'The Virgin Soldiers'. I remember visiting some of the sets in the UK and meeting some of the actors. On occasion one of the actors would collect him from our house to go somewhere for filming. I remember a big black 'Princess' limo pulling up outside and bibbing its horn. Nine years later this actor, Christopher Timothy, became famous for playing James Herriot in the very successful TV series. 

Matilda is more a Queen than a Princess and I didn't bib her horn but I thought about it...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.