Celebrating

Thursday
Today we celebrated the life of my Uncle Dick who passed away last December. The service took place in rural Michigan at my cousin’s Methodist church, where he is the minister. My uncle and all three of my cousins are/were Methodist ministers! It was mostly extended family who attended, and a few friends and neighbours. Although he will be sorely missed, the service was full of funny stories and happy memories of a life very well lived.

After a rest this afternoon we drove up to Traverse City, Michigan, where we will be staying for a couple of days. Tomorrow there will be a small burial service and more time to spend together as extended family. I’m sure that Dick would have been happy that this has turned into a family reunion. I’m so glad I came!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.