36ºC

I don't usually buy watermelons because they are soooo huge, and I end up wasting as much as I eat - but today's temperature, even in the breeze, which felt more like walking through a hairdryer, necessitated this delicious thirst quenching treat.  This one, larger than a rugby ball, cost me the equivalent of £1 bought from one of many street side sellers on the way home from going to the doctor in Akbuk to discuss recent blood test results and other things related to recent health issues. Apparently, although some number are a bit high, it's not a major concern - but I'll repeat the process next month. Meanwhile, I'll continue with the new medication. I'm looking forward to having a beer next week when the course of antibiotics is finished !  

Best news today was when Arife (caretaker's wife) told me that she did, after all, have enough time today to give my apartment a thorough clean before she goes to Istanbul tomorrow. Very excited about this because I've done virtually no housework for weeks since starting to feel ill - and I was increasingly worried about Robin's arrival next week. It took Arife a full day, but my floors now sparkle, and my place is spotless. Now, when Robin gets here on Tuesday (fingers crossed), she's going to think I'm a super home cleaner... unless of course she reads this post......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.