Eye Eye

The Canon R5 has a system which detects eyes. I've got mine set for animal eyes, don't suppose that includes insects. Generally it is best to focus on one's subjects' eyes, especially when shooting macro as the depth of field can be very narrow. Notice how Nature has fooled the camera. It has locked on to the meadow brown's eye spots rather than its eyes. :) Not a problem in the left shot as the eye is in the same plane as the eye spot. I wouldn't usually post a shot like the one on the right as the actual eyes are out of focus. I enjoyed the experiment. :)

Quite a racket at the lake this morning. A buzzard was trying to make off with a moorhen. I saw it try and fail the other day. Nice to see that the tufted duck pair is back.

I've included a male greenfinch which was wheezing from a dead ash tree. I saw and photographed my first female common blue butterfly of 2021. A lovely rose chafer beetle was munching ponderously on a hogweed flower. Tortoise  bugs can be very variable in colour but I've never seen a completely dark one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.