Squids in

The town's been wowed by this impressive mural of a huge cephalopod that appeared on one of the old pubs. It's been bought by a Cornish business that intends this as a sister pub/restaurant to the one in Mevagissey.

The Cambrian (accent, curiously, on the second syllable, so sounds like the man's name) is an unshowy place in a back street so this striking image won't even catch the eye of passers-through but the place is already open for business and the menu sounds enticing.

Not everyone is so impressed. As I walked towards the pub to view the mural for myself I heard a man sounding off to another passer-by. "That's illegal that is. It shouldn't be permitted. When I was landlord there  I wasn't allowed to put Sky banners up." I refrained from pointing out that advertising a TV channel isn't the same as commissioning an original art work.

Fishguard isn't new to wall art. Some decades ago a local artist, Maxwell Jones, painted a number of murals around the town and they were regarded with great affection until time and renovation overtook them. Lately a new enterprise aims to install 'digital art' murals in several locations, featuring local views and beauty spots. To my mind they look like garish travel posters and have none of the appeal of genuine wall art.

I'm reminded, sadly, of the mural sported by our surplus food cafe until the whole building was demolished to make way for the new road system.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.