Take five

The fact that I’m smiling may give the game away…..it was good news at the hospital today.

My consultant said how well I looked and even called me a ‘show off’ for walking through the waiting room and into the clinic without my crutches.

He then took me to another room to show me my X-rays, comparing the ones before my bone graft to today’s.
He said he was ‘pleasantly surprised’ at how well my bone has healed, going so far as to say it was a ‘beautiful looking bone’ and whatever I’ve been doing has paid dividends. We congratulated each other’s efforts and agreed we’d made a good team effort in my recovery.

We chatted about the wedding plans; there’s 8 weeks left until the big day so once again he worked backwards from our date.
He said it would be better to keep the frame on for another few weeks, as this will be better than wearing a plaster cast for longer.
I was beyond caring at this point if I’m honest; I heard the word ‘healed’ and that was good enough for me!!

So I’m booked back in to have the frame removed in 5 weeks time. After this long, I don’t mind another few weeks as at least the end goal is now in sight.
The cast will go on straight after (I may even have a boot yet, we are still undecided) and come off just before the wedding.

He also said I can drive again now too; as I have an automatic and so don’t need the left leg for the pedals. This will make things easier for me in the lead up to the wedding with appointments etc.

While we were waiting, we got chatting to another couple; she too had a frame and broke her leg in May, falling out of her car!
I’ve reassured her she’s in great hands with my consultant and that things do get better in time. There were a few things she asked me about and I hope I imparted some handy hints to her.
I was happy to help and hopefully she feels better for talking to someone in a similar situation.

I think a celebratory drink may be in order for me tonight! ;-)

DQ x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.