Mecha

By Mecha

Ten Quid

So, here in the UK it is 'Red Nose Day'. A night of comic relief. A night when I am proud to be from the UK. The amount, as a nation, that we raise is brilliant. Last Red Nose Day £108,436,227 was raised. That is fantastic.

So what could I get for ten quid?

A CD Album
50g of tobacco
A couple of bottles of cheap wine
A nice steak
A trip to the cinema

OR

A couple of maleria bed nets
App. 7 doses to help treat maleria
A couple of life saving vaccines
Sends 2 children to school for a month

and so much more.

It is great that the money not only goes to Africa, but to causes in the UK as well.

But as far as I am concerned, a life is a life. Whether it is you next door neighbour, someone in the nearby town, someone down in London or someone 1000's of miles away. A life is a life and in this day and age someone who needs help and we are able to support them, treat them, relieve them - we have to.


I don't normally write much on my journal, so I will now get off my soap box and donate a bit of money to something I think is worthwhile

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.