Photographic Poeticisms

By TerryRhiannyr

Fountain Pen of Youth

The fountain pen of youth
Used in days uncouth
Saw me through school times
Listening to period bell chimes
Days spent at desk in row
No computer then in tow
A calculator was considered special
Even a slide rule's use was a thril
Exam times passed in a blur
My mind a total whir
Of formulae acute and fact obtuse
Things that now are of little use
Then off I went to university land
To a place not where I'd planned
Two years spent upon the site
Of a film set didn't seem right
And try though as hard as I could
I did not manage to do as I should
So off to home again I did leave
Where career and life I did achieve
But those times past I'd never trade
For such memories there were made
And all through those days uncouth
I used that fountain pen of youth
But times passed and writing slumped
As on to keyboard words I pumped
And to the back of a forgotten drawer
It was pushed and used no more
Until just a few days ago
When its silvered sides it did show
And after a clean it wrote like new
And off it again the words they flew
And let me tell you now the truth
It's still perfect, that pen of my youth


Terry Rhiannyr
March, 2013

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.