photoLyle

By photoLyle

March Inspiration Challenge. Day 15: Explore

Day 15: Take a walk and explore where you are today.

Challenge in mind I went for a walk/explore this afternoon. I got rained on, hailed on, sleeted on, and generally buffeted about for a good two and a half hours. Then, as the Law of Sod frequently dictates, the sun decided to make an appearance just as I got home. Impressed? Moi? Not a jot.

There wasn't much that caught my eye when I was out until I was taking a shortcut home through the cemetery. I've always been quite fascinated by cemeteries and looking round the old headstones wondering about the history of the person they commemorate. My favourite ( is it strange to have a favourite?) cemetery is the Necropolis in Glasgow. When I lived in Glasgow it was often on the Sunday afternoon, post pub lunch walking route.

The headstone in this shot dates back to 1737. All the older headstones are inscripted on the rear with the details of the interred. Though, unsurprisingly are hard to read now...even so its still easy to see that the masons of the time were very talented.

The inscription on the front fugit hora = time flies

Anyhoo, enough of this graveyard talk.

It's the weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.