Another Tick off the Things I would like to see

Another Tick off the Things I would like to see or do
I am not a petrol head by any stretch of the imagination and although I enjoy looking at old cars I am no expert at all. 

When I was 10 in 1960 I was fascinated with the continuing story of Donald Campbells land speed record attempts in Bluebird. In July 1964 he achieved a speed of 403.2 mph. 

I think this was one of the last land speed records before they allowed Jet Propelled Cars. By the end of the year Campbells record had been broken a number of times and the speed stood at 133mph faster !!

Fast forward to today I visited the Beaulieu National Motor Museum and, i am sure, you can imagine my delight to find that the actual car (Bluebird CN7) had been restored and was on display there. 

I was a good boy and did not touch it even though I was tempted. Beautiful car. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.