arctiacaja

By _tigermoth

Suzuki GT500a

There is a story behind this photograph…

I owned a new one as a teenager, my first big motorcycle after passing my test.  

Before I sold it to buy my first car it went through a number of guises including fitting drop bars, a fairing and expansion pipes.

Toured Germany and Holland on it one very hot summer when I was an apprentice engineer.  I recall getting back to the ferry at the end of the 3000+ mile odyssey and the chain was so stretched it was barely hanging on the rear sprocket.

Happy days.

This piece of engineering art was a restoration project in America and I was on the verge of 'trying' to buy it.  By the time I came across it, the bike had been fully restored and changed hands.

So there you go...

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.