My Camera #2

The sun finally gave up on us after a really good spell of dry weather. Every time I thought about blipping it didn't look too good outside so back to the occasional series of My Camera.

After having the Zenth for a couple of years and having moved to Shetland in that time I decided in was time for a change. Also no parents to query the amount of money I was spending on a camera. With a fixed 135mm lens added on the Canon A1 cost £328 which was more than 1.5 times my monthly wage in 1980 so I took a 3 year bank loan. (Not sure was my better half would make of me spending 1.5 times my wage on a new camera at the moment- I'd be all for it).

The A1 was a great camera and I still think it took better pictures than anything since. It was a sturdy bit of equipment, heavy compared to todays kit, but it had to be as it did fall down a cliff at one point and survived (thought I had the strap round my neck when letting it go but didn't!) Don't see it being used again but will hang on to it. This one must have been used regularly for at least 12 years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.