The Collector

By Collector

Galaxy - Poole Pottery

I am a collector, yet only of things that I think are beautiful, useful, and I love, as William Morris said.
A friend gave me this large modern Poole Pottery shallow dish, because she knows I love colour, and this particular pottery company. I also have some older examples.

This 'Galaxy' design is a current one, but not for the faint-hearted!
Big splashy dollops of glaze on a 'petrol-on-water' background. Pretty gutsy :)



I went to school in Poole in the 60s, and took the potteries for granted, and now I even think I would have liked to become an apprentice decorator. Some great work and innovative design has come from their designers, much of it highly collectible, both from the 30s jazz era, through the modernist 50s, 60s, and up to now. Mainly local people went to work there. Just shows I believe, that so many who think otherwise, have enormous artistic talent. One of the most creative & forward thinking companies for mass ceramic design. There have been many changes - evolution - in the Poole Pottery story, however the spirit and ethos is moving forward, in a different world of course.
In the end, I went to art school anyway but this is work which lives on...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.