Retractable Stinger?

Do little bees release and retract their stingers? I took several photos of this little bee and this is the only one with the stinger extended! 

I am having a good day although it is really hot here. I got up early and picked 5 big baskets of Raspberries in my garden. The sprinkler came on while I was out there and it actually felt good.....fun, since it was already 85F at 7:30AM. Little Miss Ellie will be over this evening.....we will be here alone since my husband went for the beach.....he has a fishing buddy over there so I don't have to worry about him going fishing in the ocean alone. 

I just saw a notice on my computer that Portland hit a record high today.; I am inside with AC on 78F and a fan aimed right on me, so I am very comfortable. I hope anyone without AC is taking advantage of all the cooling centers around the Portland area or finding other ways to cool off. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.