Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Carolina Wren

Intriguingly, the Carolina wren nest that I blipped earlier is now empty. I need to do a bit of research to see if it's been long enough that they might have fledged, or if I need to suspect foul play... AH! I took the first photo of the recently hatched wrens on June 6. I think that's entirely long enough for it to be assumed that they have fledged. Phew!

These babes look almost large enough to fledge - so they'll likely be gone soon. They're on the front porch, as opposed to outside the back kitchen door.

Edit: Hmm - I looked back again and I see that the photo I took on the 6th was of mama wren sitting on eggs. They probably didn't hatch until about the 18th maybe? Which would mean they may NOT have fledged, but rather been snarfed up by a snake or... raccoon? Not Ronda, surely!!??!! Egad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.