randomgirl

By randomgirl

Wild Orchid

It turned out to be a good thing that our grass hasn't been cut for quite a while!

I noticed this little wild orchid growing just next to the trampoline yesterday. I'd spotted a similar one a few days before in a different part of the lawn, but interestingly that one's colour seems to have now faded from a pale lilac to almost white. I really like the delicate purple markings on the petals of these flowers. I looked it up with Google lens and I think this variety is the 'Heath Spotted Orchid' https://www.scottishwildflowers.org/flower/heath-spotted-orchid/
It's supposedly the most common of the Scottish orchids.

Today when my husband got back from work he was about to mow the lawn but I told him not to....it wouldn't seem right to mow over flowers like this. Plus it seems nice for the insects to keep all the flowers in the grass for a bit longer. He was very happy not to bother!

By the way I do seem to always be a day or so behind whenever I put up a blip at the moment, but I'm finding it really helpful (and more enjoyable) to be taking things a bit easier on here for now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.