A Fun, Relaxing Day.......

I found myself this morning with no commitments, no energy, and 2 energetic girls.  I decided to go for a ride in the car.  I went on a road hunt, to find the Gainesville Hawthorne Trail.    And find it, I did!   It was the northern trailhead for a bike ride that eventually winds it's way down to Ocala via the The Greenway.  The whole ride isn't paved yet but a lot is.
        The trailhead is in Boulware Park.  It's a lovely park with picnic benches, parking for horses where people have room  for trailers, as well as equestrian trails to ride on.    All of this winds thru Paines Prairie, Sweetwater Park, La Chua Trail and hiking trails out through out.  .Paines Prairie is home to wild horses, cattle, alligators, many species of birds and a lookout tower one can  climb up if so inclined.    Porta Pottiest are there as comfort stations,  maintained by the city.  I was very surprised to find them clean,  no smells, and fly free.     There also,was  plenty of room to park cars, unload bikes and go for a great ride.      The girls and I walked a part of the trail and get some exercise.
One other piece of trivia...... 4-6 years ago ( I have forgotten the actual dates and time)  some Blippers flew to Gainesville and we had a Blipmeet.  It was a fabulous chance to meet people from England, Norway, and other countries.  It made amazing memories, for all of us.
       After we got warm and left the park, I went to Blaze, got a fabulous pizza for a late lunch/early dinner.     We headed for home and enjoyed what remained of the afternoon driving home.   It was a great day, relaxing, out in the countryside and away from any city and traffic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.