Lathyrus Odoratus

By lathyrus

Mystery Abutilon

Another thoroughly wet day pottering in the garden in between the showers. I have a small collection of Abutilon (also known as Indian Mallow). My 'collection' (currently ten varieties)  started with a cutting taken from one plant growing in my father's garden about twenty years ago. I know all the variety names except that of the original one. It is a prolific flowerer producing lots of these bell-shaped orange flowers veined with red and contrasting with dark brown calyces. My best guess is that it is Abutilon 'Tango', one of several named after ballroom dances. My parents were ballroom dancing teachers so may have been attracted by the name. Other possibilities are that it is Abutilon 'Patrick Synge' or  Abutilon 'Orange Hot Lava'. Hopefully a visit one day to the national collection will solve the mystery. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.